Celebrating Road Safety Heroes

Recognizing the Outstanding Contributions of Community Members through the Road Safety Hero Award. In 2022 we launched the Road Safety Hero Award and every year we seek nominations from around the country to recognise and applaud road safety heroes in our community. The award is announced during the Launch event for Road Safety Week in May each year.

Please fill out this award nomination form to nominate a person for The Annual Road Safety Hero Award.

Please tell us the name of your Road Safety Hero(Required)
Accepted file types: jpg, png, Max. file size: 100 MB.

Please tell us your name / the name of the person nominating them(Required)

Privacy Clause

By submitting a nomination you are giving the Alliance permission to use content you are providing on relevant websites, social media channels and/or for other promotional purposes. We reserve the right to edit content.

2023 Yellow Ribbon Road Safety Alliance Hero Award

The winner was Chris Horrocks who has served as our longest-standing member on the Wairarapa Road Safety Council Board (WRSC) until 2022. Representing the Automobile Association, he brought invaluable experience and insight to their meetings, consistently advocating for safer roads. Over a remarkable span of 33 years, Chris dedicated himself to the WRSC since its incorporation as a society. As a volunteer member of the AA, Chris’s commitment was unmistakable and greatly appreciated. His active involvement in meetings and willingness to contribute to road safety events significantly enhanced our community outreach. Without Chris’s steadfast support, their road safety messages would not have resonated as strongly within their community.

Chris’s advocacy extended across various fronts, from championing the cause of youth and older drivers to emphasizing community collaborative messages. His dedication to looking out for individuals of all ages using our roading network has left an enduring impact on our mission for safer roads and is well deserving of our Road Safety Hero Award

To nominate someone for the please fill out this Road Safety Hero Award form – nominations open 1 March each year and close the second Friday in April.

2022 Yellow Ribbon Road Safety Alliance Hero Award

Sterling Maxwell

Youth Representative – SADD/Kaitiaki o Ara Board